Skip to content

Exploring a “Cleanse”

December 3, 2012
The Cleansing Cart

The Cleansing Cart

Our friend Katie Haines at Healthy Roots, Happy Life is working on developing a cleanse routine, and so, being adventurous, my wife and I decided to give it a go and help her test it.  This particular cleanse holds several aspects that for myself and my wife will be a bit of a journey, both nutritional as well as perhaps, spiritual/psychological: gluten-free, caffeine-free, alcohol-free, and vegan.

For me, the journey that this cleanse represents is the point.  I spent nearly 10 years as an ovo-lacto vegetarian, and have dabbled with veganism on the past.  Neither of those approaches has proven to be something that I currently want to commit to as a lifestyle, but they still represent an interesting test-case for a short term cleanse – what things will I observe about my body and mind while removing all animal products from my system?  The elimination of caffeine and alcohol will be a bit more novel for me.  I certainly have not gone through 2 weeks of caffeine-free existence since somewhere before 1991 when I fully committed to a life with caffeine while biking from Seattle WA to Frederica DE over the summer (coincidentally, it was Katie’s husband Daniel Haines, who introduced me to the joys of that toasty mountain grown beverage).  An alcohol-free 2 weeks?  Haven’t done that since age 21, the closest I have come have been during a few brief sojourns into the hospital due to my propensity to let my bike ride me from time to time or due to the effects of other unforeseen signs of aging.  Gluten-free? Huh, probably somewhere around 1968, soon after I began to branch out from nursing.

So, let me say, I am a half-ass cleanser, since I have a buddy coming into town on Saturday for a pre-arranged trip that will cause me to take 2 days off, and I get migraines when dropping my caffeine consumption too rapidly – so it looks like 5 days of cleansing, 2 days off, then 7 more days, weening myself down from caffeine along the way.  Certainly long enough to experience the experience.

So, I ask myself why?  The answer: I just want to experience it.   I am not looking to my diet for weight gain/loss aspirations, energy changes, elimination of health problems.  I just want to know what it will be like.  That is my story and I’m sticking to it.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Digital Geography

We blog about GIS, geodata, webtechnology and have jobs too!

The 512 Project

Learning to eat healthy on a food stamp budget.

wordsfromtherollonation

ramblings from a former distance swimmer who enjoys hours on the trail

Rees Vineyard

Wine Growing From Ground Zero

V.K.Rees

Exploring the Body & Mind Through Sport

Athletic Algorithms

Exploring the Body & Mind Through Sport

